News

Cybercriminals reactivate Netflix accounts without users' permission

Friday 29 November 2019 12:01 CET | News

Former Netflix customers who cancelled their subscription have had their accounts reactivated without their consent by cybercriminals.

Criminals can log into dormant accounts and reactivate them without knowing users’ bank details, according to BBC. This is made possible as the video streaming service holds customer data on their site for 10 months, including billing details, to be easy for customers to rejoin. Netflix says this information is available to members who choose to cancel and they will delete it all if requested by email, according to BBC.

Netflix says the safety of its members' accounts is top priority, and members who notice any unusual activity on their account should contact them immediately.

There is a lucrative market for Netflix login details, with criminals selling ‘lifetime’ accounts on eBay for as little as GBP 3, the online publication adds. Nevertheless, an eBay spokesperson told BBC Radio 4's You & Yours programme that these listings were banned from the platform and that they would be removed and enforcement action taken against the sellers.
More: Link


Free Headlines in your E-mail

Every day we send out a free e-mail with the most important headlines of the last 24 hours.

Subscribe now

Keywords: Netflix, subscription, fraud prevention, cybercrime, cybersec, cybercriminals, UK
Categories: Securing Transactions | Digital Identity, Security & Online Fraud
Countries: United Kingdom
This article is part of category

Securing Transactions