Apple Pay to launch in 16 more countries

Friday 17 May 2019 09:10 CET | News

Apple has allegedly prepared the launch of Apple Pay for cardholders in 16 more countries in Eastern Europe, according to MacRumors.

The mobile payments service has been gradually expanding across Europe and the Middle East, launching in Poland, Norway, Kazakhstan, Belgium, Germany, Czech Republic, Saudi Arabia, Austria, and Iceland in 2018.

Currently, the service will be available for cardholders in Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia. Apple Pay is also nearing launch in the Netherlands, Hungary, and Luxembourg for a total of 16 upcoming countries.

Apple Pay first launched in the US in October 2014 and has since expanded to dozens of countries and territories. The service can be used anywhere contactless payments are accepted with a compatible iPhone or Apple Watch, and it is also accepted by select apps and websites.

Free Headlines in your E-mail

Every day we send out a free e-mail with the most important headlines of the last 24 hours.

Subscribe now

Keywords: Apple Pay, mobile payments, card, Europe
Countries: World

Industry Events