European Parliament intergroup agrees to develop digital agenda

Monday 22 December 2014 10:35 CET | News

Over 70 members of the European Parliament from different parties and nationalities have formed an informal group that will focus on coordinating the digital agenda policy from 2015 to 2019.

Ecommerce policy is currently spread over a plethora of legislation in the areas of consumer rights, data protection and privacy, taxation, payments and so on, which creates legal uncertainty for merchants, especially for cross-border trade merchants. The creation of a digital agenda intergroup has great potential in bringing together these policies towards a coordinated Digital Single Market policy.

The President of the European Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker, has already created a ‘coordinating’ Vice-President for the Digital Agenda (currently filled by Andrus Ansip), who has taken up the task of simplifying consumer protection rules for online purchases.

The digital agenda intergroup represents an informal network of Members of European Parliament with varied backgrounds who share an interest in digital technologies and its benefits for the society. The intergroup consists of more than 70 MEPs and is chaired by Julia Reda (Greens, Germany), Michal Boni (EPP, Poland), Josef Weidenholzer (S&D, Austria) and Marietje Schaake (ALDE, the Netherlands).

Free Headlines in your E-mail

Every day we send out a free e-mail with the most important headlines of the last 24 hours.

Subscribe now

Keywords: European Parliament, EU, agreement, digital agenda, members, regulation, informal group, coordination, policy
Categories: Payments & Commerce
Countries: World
This article is part of category

Payments & Commerce

Industry Events