Bitwala allows Bitcoin bank accounts in 31 European countries

Thursday 5 September 2019 00:52 CET | News

Bitwala has launched a new app, which will enable users to open a German bank account with an integrated Bitcoin wallet, via their smartphones.

Via the app, customers in all 31 countries of the European Economic Area can buy and sell Bitcoin, however, the company will charge a 1% trading fee. Moreover, users’ accounts and debit cards are free and lost cards could be canceled directly on the app.

Bitwala’s accounts are hosted by Germany-based fintech company solarisBank, which has a banking license and is supervised by the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin).

EEA countries where Bitwala customers can launch Bitcoin banking are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Free Headlines in your E-mail

Every day we send out a free e-mail with the most important headlines of the last 24 hours.

Subscribe now

Keywords: Bitwala, launch, Bitcoin, bank accounts, Europe, cryptocurrency, digital assets, trading fee, fintech, banking license, crypto assets
Countries: World